Schedule and ESPN Coverage for the FIL World Championship

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) has updated the complete schedule and division alignments for the 2014 FIL Men's World Championship, presented by Trusted Choice, which takes place July 10-19 at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo., the "Official Competition City" for the world championship.

A record 38 nations will participate in this year's world championship and will play 142 games over 10 days, beginning with a rematch of the last world championship game. The event opens on Thursday, July 10 with the opening ceremony at 5:00 p.m., followed by the host United States team battling Canada. The U.S. beat Canada, 12-10, in the 2010 world championship in Manchester, England.

The field is broken into nine divisions, with the top six teams competing in the Blue Division. The other eight divisions all have four teams and are not grouped by world ranking.

The Blue Division has six days of pool play (July 10-15) and the top four teams in the Blue Division advance to the quarterfinal round. The top two seeds receive a bye into the semifinals. The other eight divisions have three pool play games and will begin bracket play on July 14. The top team in each of the eight divisions after pool play will have the opportunity to advance to the quarterfinal round of the championship bracket.

In addition to the FIL World Championship, more than 150 teams are already registered for the boys' youth and men's elite/master's World Festivals, which will be held in conjunction with the world championship at Dick's Sporting Goods Park.

This is the first time the quadrennial FIL Men's World Championship has been held in the United States since 1998, when it was played in Baltimore. For more information about the 2014 FIL World Championship, including ticket package details, please visit

For ESPN coverage of the games, see the last page of this post.

* * * *

Blue Division
United States

Green Division

Grey Division
Costa Rica
Czech Republic

Orange Division
Republic of Korea

Plum Division
New Zealand

Red Division
Hong Kong

Turquoise Division

White Division

Yellow Division

* * * *

Revised Schedule as of June 18 (all times Mountain)

Thursday, July 10
5:00 p.m. Opening Ceremony, Stadium
7:00 p.m. United States vs. Canada, Stadium

Friday, July 11
8:00 a.m. Netherlands vs. China, Field 10
8:30 a.m. Latvia vs. Switzerland, Field 8
9:00 a.m. Italy vs. Norway, Field 4
9:00 a.m. Bermuda vs. France, Field 6
9:00 a.m. Wales vs. Russia, Field 3
9:30 a.m. Hong Kong vs. Austria, Field 1
11:00 a.m. Scotland vs. Thailand, Field 10
11:30 a.m. Finland vs. Colombia, Field 2
11:30 a.m. Slovakia vs. Korea, Field 5
11:30 a.m. Sweden vs. Israel, Field 8
12:00 p.m. Czech Republic vs. Turkey, Field 6
12:30 p.m. Poland vs. Costa Rica, Field 1
12:30 p.m. New Zealand vs. Argentina, Field 3
12:30 p.m. Spain vs. Mexico, Field 4
2:00 p.m. Germany vs. Belgium, Field 10
2:30 p.m. Ireland vs. Uganda, Field 8
5:00 p.m. Australia vs. Japan, Stadium
8:00 p.m. England vs. Iroquois, Stadium

Saturday, July 12
8:00 a.m. Korea vs. Sweden, Field 10
8:30 a.m. Austria vs. Germany, Field 8
9:00 a.m. Uganda vs. Bermuda, Field 2
9:00 a.m. Colombia vs. Spain, Field 6
10:30 a.m. Norway vs. Netherlands, Field 3
11:00 a.m. France vs. Ireland, Field 10
11:30 a.m. Belgium vs. Hong Kong, Field 5
11:30 a.m. Argentina vs. Wales, Field 8
12:00 p.m. Russia vs. New Zealand, Field 1
1:00 p.m. Switzerland vs. Scotland, Field 4
2:00 p.m. Japan vs. Iroquois, Field 10
2:30 p.m. Thailand vs. Latvia, Field 2
2:30 p.m. Finland vs. Mexico, Field 8
3:30 p.m. China vs. Italy, Field 3
3:30 p.m. Turkey vs. Poland, Field 6
5:00 p.m. Australia vs. United States, Field 10
5:30 p.m. Costa Rica vs. Czech Republic, Field 8
8:00 p.m. Canada vs. England, Field 10
8:30 p.m. Israel vs. Slovakia, Field 8

1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website