Team USA Names 23-Man Roster for FIL World Championship

BALTIMORE - At the conclusion of a tryout process that included 98 players and spanned 11 months, US Lacrosse has named the U.S. Men's National Team final 23-man roster for the FIL World Championship, presented by Trusted Choice, July 10-19 in Commerce City, Colo.

The team was selected from a 31-player roster that attended training camp last week in Connecticut and Massachusetts, and competed in Thursday's MLL All-Star Game at Harvard Stadium in Cambridge, Mass.

Four players return from the gold medal-winning 2010 FIL World Championship squad that defeated Canada 12-10 in Manchester, England, to earn the United States' ninth world title. Returners include attackmen Ned Crotty and Brendan Mundorf (All-World) as well as midfielders Paul Rabil (MVP and All-World) and Max Seibald (All-World).

Team USA will next head to the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo., for a final training camp July 6-9 before beginning its world title defense in Denver on July 10.

"These men were selected from a group of 52 that participated on Orlando and 31 that participated this past week, so we feel this is a very solid team that will represent our country well in Denver," said Team USA head coach Richie Meade. "Several of the men who have been part of this process distinguished themselves but weren't chosen for this team. We're very humbled to represent our country and endeavor to do so to the best of our collective ability."

Related Link: Schedule and ESPN Coverage for the FIL World Championship

Ned Crotty, Duke (New York Lizards)
Marcus Holman, North Carolina (Ohio Machine)
Kevin Leveille, Massachusetts (Rochester Rattlers)
Brendan Mundorf, UMBC (Chesapeake Bayhawks)
Rob Pannell, Cornell (New York Lizards)
Garrett Thul, Army (Florida Launch/Philadelphia Wings)

Matt Abbott, Syracuse (Chesapeake Bayhawks)
Kevin Buchanan, Ohio State (Boston Cannons)
Dan Burns, Maryland (Chesapeake Bayhawks)
Kyle Harrison, Johns Hopkins (Ohio Machine)
David Lawson, Duke (Rochester Rattlers)
Paul Rabil, Johns Hopkins (Boston Cannons)
Max Seibald, Cornell (New York Lizards/Philadelphia Wings)

Mitch Belisle, Cornell (Boston Cannons)
Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland (Chesapeake Bayhawks)
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins (Florida Launch)
Michael Evans, Johns Hopkins (Chesapeake Bayhawks)
Kyle Hartzell, Salisbury (New York Lizards)
Lee Zink, Maryland (Denver Outlaws)

Drew Adams, Penn State (New York Lizards)
Jesse Schwartzman, Johns Hopkins (Denver Outlaws)

Chris Eck, Colgate (Boston Cannons)
Greg Gurenlian, Penn State (New York Lizards)

John Galloway, Syracuse (Rochester Rattlers)
Steele Stanwick, Virginia (Ohio Machine)

* Two alternates were selected to travel with the team to Colorado Springs and Denver and will be added to the active roster only in the instance of injury. Per FIL policy, no changes to the active roster may be made after Wednesday, July 9.


Create a free lacrosse website