FIL World Lacrosse Championship - Results from Day Nine

15th place Switzerland 9, Netherlands 6: Switzerland dug out of an early 4-1 hole and defeated the Netherlands 9-6 to finish in 15th place, an eight-slot improvement over their showing at the 2010 FIL World Championship in Manchester, England. Switzerland's Tyson Ehinger made seven saves in the first three quarters of action, and Dominik Guntensperg closed it out making four saves while allowing just one goal in the final quarter. Luis Zurkirchen, Joni Schreiber and Juan Schmid all had two goals for Switzerland. Scott Janssen led the Netherlands with four goals and James van de Veerdonk won 14 of 17 faceoffs.

17th place Wales 18, Italy 6: Paul Simpson had four goals and two assists and Eoin Dunne contributed three goals and two assists as Wales finished 17th with an 18-6 win over Italy. Rhodri Stanford won 12 of 15 faceoffs for Wales and James Richardson and Kyle McAllister combined for 10 saves. John St. John had a goal and three assists for Italy and he finished the tournament with 17 assists, among the event leaders. Steven Whitford also had two goals and an assist.

19th place Latvia 17, Poland 7: Christopher Zarins and Eli Lasda each scored four goals and Gints Gutmanis made 13 saves as Latvia pulled away for a 17-7 victory over Poland to finish in 19th place. Latvia led 6-3 and then scored the first three goals of the second half to gain control. Larry Cerais led Poland with three goals and Michael Poch (13 of 16) and Michal Bucki (7 of 10) did most of the work to help Poland win the faceoff battle 20 to 7.

21st place Hong Kong 10, Turkey 4: Hong Kong held Turkey scoreless for the first 25 minutes of the game, jumping out to a 4-0 lead and led comfortably throughout in a 10-4 victory to claim 21st place. Waik Kwan Wong was very solid in goal, making 13 saves in the win, and Van Sternbergh had three goals. Tyler Rinko led Turkey with three goals. Jacob Adoni made 10 saves in the loss and finished the tournament with a 65.6 save percentage. Hong Kong improved one spot from its 22nd place finish in 2010. Turkey was playing in its first world championship and finished with the second-best placement among the new newcomers to the event, trailing only Israel, which finished seventh.

23rd place Mexico 12, Bermuda 8: Joe Vila tallied four goals as Mexico downed Bermuda 12-8 to capture 23rd place. Mexico completed the tournament with a record of 3-4, showing marked improvement from a 29th place finish in its inaugural world championship in 2010. Mexico led 5-4 at the half and then broke it open in the third quarter, outscoring Bermuda 5-0 in the frame. Bermuda scored three straight in the fourth quarter, two of them by Douglas Bell, to pull within 11-8 with 5:50 remaining, but Vila's fourth goal of the game 21 seconds left sealed it for Mexico. Mike Vila added two goals and three assists for Mexico and Axkana Patraca and Kevin Kterndahl each had two goals. James Chiappa led Bermuda with three goals and Bell had the two. Drew Jenkins had a goal and an assist and won 14 of 17 faceoffs. Jenkins finished the tournament winning 69.5 percent (114 of 164) of his faceoffs.

25th place Norway 14, Slovakia 3: Erlend Hoel made nine saves as Norway shut down Slovakia 14-3 to claim 25th place. Norway outshot Slovakia 42-17 and won 15 of 21 faceoffs with Nicklas Sparr Johnse taking most of the draws for Norway. Jesper Norman Hjorth had four goals for Norway and Lars Rysst added three goals and two assists. Stanislav Mraz and Nathaniel Gaspar combined for 17 saves for Slovakia.

27th place Belgium 7, Austria 6: Matt Taylor made 16 saves as Begium edged Austria 7-6 to capture 27th place. The game featured five ties and Julian Cook broke the final tie, scoring the game-winning goal for Belgium with 1:04 left in the game. Belgium was held off the scoreboard for the first 36 minutes, but still led 2-1 at the half and Gabriel Wagner and Brendan Murphy netting goals in the final 3:02 of the second quarter. Murphy and Diego Spillebeen each had two goals for Belgium and Tibor Van den Wildenberg had a goal and three assists. Klaus Hauer led Austria with three goals.

«  Previous    1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website