MLL Semifinal Matchups Set as Regular Season Ends

Machine goalie Brian Phipps tallied eight saves, but only allowed 10 goals form the Launch, and made six of his eight saves in a key fourth-quarter stand. Face-off man Bobby Dattilo led the team by going eight of 14 at the midfield X and picked up six groundballs.

McArdle's three goals and Brooks' pair of tallies led the Launch. Goalie Adam Fullerton had 17 saves on 31 shots on goal for Florida in the loss.

McArdle broke the MLL rookie scoring record with his first-quarter goal and finished the game with four total points. His final season numbers were 34 goals and 15 assists for a total of 49 points.

According to Ohio State men's lacrosse coach Nick Myers, the match-up between the Machine and Launch featured the most OSU players in a single game in MLL history as six former Buckeyes took the field. The Machine dressed four Buckeyes in Alexander, face-off man Eric O'Brien, attackman Logan Schuss and defenseman Greg Bice. The Florida roster featured two former OSU players in Meuer and attackman Mario Ventiquattro, who previously played for the Machine.

The 2014 MLL Playoffs are scheduled to begin Saturday, August 16 with two semifinal games. The first semifinal will start at 3:00 p.m. with the second facing off at 5:30 p.m. The 2014 MLL Championship Game is set for 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 23 at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, Ga.

The other semifinal match-up will be between the Denver Outlaws and New York Lizards.

* * * *

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y, Despite the 12-11 overtime loss to the New York Lizards (9-5) Saturday afternoon, the Denver Outlaws (9-5) clinched home-field advantage for the 2014 MLL Playoffs. Denver will host a semifinal playoff game on Saturday, Aug. 16 at 3:30 p.m. MDT at The University of Denver's Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium.

The semifinal game will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network, and the winner will travel to Kennesaw, Ga. for the 2014 Championship Game at Fifth Third Bank Stadium on Aug. 23.

Denver will be either the No. 1 or No. 2 seed, depending on the outcome of the Rochester Rattlers' game tonight. If Rochester wins, Denver will be the No. 2 seed and host the Lizards in a rematch of today's game. If Rochester loses, Denver will be the No. 1 seed and host either Boston or Ohio.

Denver took a quick 4-2 lead early in the game behind Drew Snider's first-quarter hat trick. Rookie Brent Hiken, filling in for the injured Anthony Kelly, was 4-6 (66.7%) on faceoffs in the first quarter against faceoff veteran Greg Gurenlian.

There were a combined nine goals in the second quarter, and three different ties. Eric Law scored two goals and Jeremy Sieverts added a third goal for New York, but the Lizards finished out the second quarter with two quick goals to take an 8-7 lead into the locker room at halftime.

Denver struck first in the second half when Zack Greer was able to get a good shot off thanks to an effective pick by John Grant Jr. Rookie Colin Dunster scored his fifth goal of the season to put Denver up 9-8, before New York added two goals midway through the third to take a 10-9 lead into the fourth.

Law tied it up for the sixth time of the night two minutes, 27 seconds into the fourth quarter with his third goal of the night. New York's Michael Kimmel notched his second goal of the game to give the Lizards an 11-10 lead with 4:28 left in the game.

Greer set up Junior to tie it up at 11-11 with 2:48 left in the game. New York's Rob Pannell attempted to end it in regulation and took a shot with under 30 seconds left, but it went off goal and Dillon Roy recovered the ball and sent it down field, but the Outlaws were unable to convert and the teams headed to overtime. Kyle Hartzell sealed the overtime victory for the Lizards, but since the Outlaws only lost by one goal they secured home-field advantage for the playoffs.

«  Previous    1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website