USILA Division I, II, and III Coaches of the Year

Division I

Scott Marr, head men's lacrosse coach at the University of Albany, has been named the Division I Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA). Marr, in his sixth season as the head coach of the Great Danes, had a 15 and 3 record, won the America East Conference, and took his team to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament.

Division II

Chris Ryan, head men's lacrosse coach at Mercyhurst College, has been named the Division II Coach of the Year by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. Ryan's Lakers compiled a 13-2 record, ranked 1st in the final USILA poll, won the East Coast Conference Championship, and participated in the finals of the NCAA Tournament. Ryan has just completed his sixth year as head coach at Mercyhurst.

Division III

John Klepacki, head men's lacrosse coach at Western New England College, has been named Coach of the Year for Division III by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. Klepacki directed the Golden Bears to a 17-1 season, the Pilgrim League championship, and the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament. The Golden Bears were ranked 3rd in the final USILA poll.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Baltimore, Md. – University at Albany’s Scott Marr has been named the 2007 USILA Division I National Lacrosse Coach of the Year as announced by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. Marr led the Great Danes to the program’s fourth America East Conference championship in the last five years and first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament’s quarterfinal round.

UAlbany set a school record for single-season victories with a 15-3 campaign, including a perfect 10-0 mark at home. The Great Danes opened the schedule with an 11-game win streak, the longest since the program became a varsity sport in 1970. UAlbany registered seven top-20 wins, the most ever in a Division I season, including an 8-7 victory over eventual national champion Johns Hopkins.

The Great Danes, who were ranked No. 2 nationally in the USILA coaches’ poll for six consecutive weeks, defeated UMBC, 15-14, for their fourth America East championship. Marr’s squad has reached the conference tournament final six years in a row. UAlbany recorded the athletic program’s first-ever NCAA Division I Tournament victory in a 19-10 decision over Loyola on May 13 at John Fallon Field. The Great Danes were then edged in a memorable overtime game against top-ranked Cornell in the NCAA quarterfinals.

UAlbany ranked second among the NCAA leaders in scoring offense at 13.78 goals per game. Frank Resetarits, the first Great Dane to be selected in the Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft, was voted to the USILA All-America first team. Jordan Levine (second team), Merrick Thomson (third team) and Brett Queener (honorable mention) joined him on the USILA squad. Thomson and Resetarits, a Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, are one-two on the school’s all-time scoring list.

“This is an award for the whole program,” Marr said. “It is certainly an honor to be recognized by your peers. But it has taken a lot of people within our athletic department to get this program off the ground and headed in the right direction. I am grateful to our coaching staff and the student-athletes for their hard work.”

In his seven years at UAlbany, Marr has a 65-43 career record for a .602 winning percentage. His teams have won 10 or more games four times and advanced to NCAA tournament play in 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2007. Marr, who previously was an assistant at Maryland and Delaware, and played as a collegian at Johns Hopkins, was chosen the America East Conference Coach of the Year in 2002 and 2007.


Create a free lacrosse website