National Lacrosse League

Rock on a Roll with Win over Buffalo

TORONTO, ON The Toronto Rock (8-9) handed the Buffalo Bandits (8-8) their sixth straight loss on Saturday night at Air Canada Centre by a score of 13-9. The two teams will meet in the first round of the NLL playoffs, but home floor has yet to be decided.

If the Bandits were to lose their final two games, and the Rock were to win their final game in Minnesota next week, Toronto would host the first-round single elimination playoff game. A Rock loss or any Bandits win and the game will be played in Buffalo.

Toronto scored first and led 5-2 after the opening 15 minutes. Toronto's Stephan Leblanc scored a pair on the powerplay to notch his 40th and 41st goals of the season, a new career high for the five-year Rock veteran.

Buffalo scored the first 3 goals of the quarter to tie the score 5-5 with one of those goals coming with the man advantage. Before the half, Kevin Ross scored to restore the lead for the Rock at 6-5.

The Rock scored first as Leblanc completed his hat-trick with another powerplay goal to give the Rock a 2-goal edge. The Rock had a pair of three-goal leads at 8-5 and 9-6, but the Bandits closed the gap to 9-7 after three quarters.

Toronto again scored first in the quarter but saw a 3-goal lead begin to evaporate as Buffalo got within a goal at 10-9. However, the Rock broke the game open by scoring the final three goals of the game in the last two minutes.

Rock forward Josh Sanderson was a late scratch as he was battling the flu and was unable to play.

Nick Rose made his first start in 3 games and was solid making 48 saves for the win.

Rock goal scorers were Leblanc (3), Kevin Ross (3), Damon Edwards (2), Kasey Beirnes (2), Rob Hellyer (1), Scott Johnston (1) and Sandy Chapman (1).

Toronto will wrap up their 2014 regular season schedule next Saturday night in Minnesota.

  ... [full story]

NLL Stories

Rock, Rush, Swarm, and Knighthawks Win

Ward Saves 42 as Mammoth Hand Rush First Loss

Rush, Rock, K-Hawks, 'Necks Win on Saturday

Wings Grounded in Q4; K-Hawks Rally, Top Swarm in OT

Edmonton Tops Toronto to Win 13th Straight

Wings, 'Necks, Rush, Stealth Prevail on Saturday

Minnesota Stuns Buffalo in Overtime

Wings Hang on to Edge Rock

Edmonton Blows by Buffalo to Win 11th Straight

K-Hawks Top Wings, Rock Win in OT

Bandits Top Mammoth; Rock Fall to Knighthawks

Knighthawks, Mammoth, Bandits All Win at Home

Mammoth Name Three Former Players as Interim Coaches

Mammoth Dismisses Head and Assistant Coaches

K-Hawks Get Mammoth Win; 'Necks Storm by Rock

Toronto Drops One-Goal Decision at Edmonton

Swarm Overcome Late Deficit to Sting Wings

Rock, Roughnecks Pick Up Saturday Wins

Bandits, K-Hawks, Rush, 'Necks Pick up Saturday Night Wins

First Quarter Dooms Mammoth vs. Stealth

NLL Scores
04/18Toronto 13, Buffalo 9
04/12Edmonton 15, Calgary 11
Minnesota 10, Buffalo 9
Rochester 10, Vancouver 7
Toronto 10, Philadelphia 9
04/11Colorado 10, Edmonton 8
04/05Calgary 16, Buffalo 13
Edmonton 12, Colorado 11

NLL Computer Ratings
1   Edmonton Rush99.9015-1
2   Rochester Knighthawks98.6612-4
3   Calgary Roughnecks97.2810-6
4   Toronto Rock96.978-9
5   Buffalo Bandits96.108-8
6   Philadelphia Wings95.515-11
7   Vancouver Stealth95.004-11
8   Minnesota Swarm94.954-12
9   Colorado Mammoth94.926-10

NLL Standings
East Division
West Division

NLL Schedule
DateMatch-up (Eastern Time)
04/19Calgary at Edmonton (9:00 pm)
Colorado at Minnesota (8:00 pm)
Buffalo at Rochester (7:30 pm)
Philadelphia at Vancouver (10:00 pm)
04/25Vancouver at Edmonton (9:30 pm)
04/26Rochester at Buffalo (7:30 pm)
Toronto at Minnesota (8:00 pm)
Colorado at Philadelphia (7:30 pm)

Create a free lacrosse website