Automatic Qualifiers and At-Large Teams

The Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship is a 31-team, single-elimination tournament selected from three pools.  Teams must play a minimum of eight NCAA varsity games to be eligible for the tournament, and games tied after regulation play must be decided in overtime.

There are 18 berths (Pool A) allocated to conferences that quality for automatic qualification (AQ):
Capital Athletic Conference
Centennial Conference
Colonial States Athletic Conference
Commonwealth Coast Conference
Commonwealth Conference
Empire 8 Conference
Freedom Conference
Great Northeast Athletic Conference
Liberty League
Little East Conference
New England Small College Athletic Conference
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference
New England Women's Alliance
North Coast Athletic Conference
Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Skyline Conference
State University of New York Athletic Conference
USA South Athletic Conference
See conferences for members and current standings.

Four berths (Pool B) are reserved for true independents and teams from conferences that do not receive an AQ.  Nine berths (Pool C) are reserved for teams remaining from AQ conferences that did not win their AQ berth.

Each time is assigned to one of five geographic evaluation regions (with a number of exceptions granted that place teams in natural geographic regions).  There are no set minimum or maximum berths from one region. 

Region 1: Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Vermont

Region 2: New York and Pennsylvania

Region 3: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia

Region 4: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Primary Factors for Selecting At-Large Teams

Selections for Pool B and Pool C berths emphasize in-region competition.  The following primary criteria are evaluated, but not in priority order:
Secondary Factors for Selecting At-Large Teams

If the evaluation of the primary criteria does not result in a decision by the committee, the following secondary criteria will be evaluated, and some include results versus opponents from other classifications (i.e., provisional teams, NAIA, and the other two NCAA divisions).

  • Overall Division III strength of schedule
  • Division III opponents' average winning percentage
  • Division III opponent's opponent's average winning percentage
  • Out-of-region head-to-head competition
  • Overall Division III win-loss percentage
  • Results vs. common non-Division III opponents
  • Results vs. Division III teams ranked in other regions
  • Overall win-loss percentage
  • Results vs. common out-of-region opponents
To be considered for Pool B or Pool C selection, an institution must play at least 50% of its competition against Division III in-region opponents.  Input is also provided by regional advisory committees.  However, coaches' or other polls or rankings are not used by the selection committee.

Create a free lacrosse website