Automatic Qualifiers and At-Large Teams

The Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship is a 16-team, single-elimination tournament.  Eight conferences will receive automatic qualification.  The remaining teams are selected at large.  Conferences with Automatic Qualifiers (AQs) are:
American East Conference
Big East Conference
Colonial Athletic Conference
Eastern College Athletic Conference
Ivy League
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
Northeast Conference
Patriot League
See conferences for members and current standings.

A team must play a minimum of 10 games against Division I opponents during the regular season to be considered for selection.  To be considered as an at-large selection, a team must have a .500 or better record against Division I opponents.

Primary Criteria for Selecting At-Large Teams

The Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee employs criteria specified in NCAA Bylaws.  When selecting teams for possible at-large berths, primary factors considered when reviewing teams' won-loss records and strength of schedule are (not in priority order) as follows: Input is also provided by the Regional Advisory Committee. However, coaches' polls or other rankings are not used by the selection committee.

The top eight teams are seeded and separated in the bracket, with the remaining eight placed geographically with consideration also given to separating conference opponents in the first round.

LaxPower's educated guess at tournament selections are listed here.

Create a free lacrosse website