Automatic Qualifiers and At-Large Teams

The NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship is a 26-team, single-elimination tournament.  Thirteen conferences receive a berth via automatic qualification (AQ).  The remaining 13 teams are selected at large.  The AQ conferences are:
America East
Atlantic 10
Atlantic Sun
Big East
Big South
Ivy League
Patriot League
See conferences for members and current standings.

To qualify for the tournament, teams must play a minimum of 10 games, and games tied after regulation play must be decided in overtime.

Primary Criteria for Selecting At-Large Teams

To be considered for at-large selection, teams must have a .500 or better record against all opponents.  In evaluating teams, the following factors are considered (in no specific order) by the Division I Women's Lacrosse Committee in addition to won-loss record and strength of schedule:
  • Rating Percentage Index (RPI) – see current RPI percentages
  • Head-to-head competition
  • Results vs. common opponents
  • Significant wins and losses
  • Evaluation of the 10 highest-rated teams on an institutions schedule (defined by SOS and winning percentage) – see current SOS percentages
Total of RPI and SOS can be found at this link.

Secondary Criteria for Selecting At-Large Teams

In the event that an analysis of the primary criteria does not result in a decision by the selection committee, they will evaluate late-season performance (last six games [including conference tournaments] – winning percentage and strength of schedule) and results against teams already in the tournament field.

Input is also provided by regional advisory committees.  However, coaches' or other polls or rankings are not used by the selection committee.

Create a free lacrosse website